31 Days of Thanks

31 days of thanks_2013

Here it is 10:30pm and I am just sitting down to write the first of my 31 Days of Thanks. I woke up this morning at 4:30am – already thinking of what I would write on the first day. I had so many thoughts but I forced myself to wait and go through the day first. And now here I am – being really thankful that I will have a comfortable bed to go to sleep in shortly. While that is a one thing I am thankful for right now, my gratitude runs much deeper for these special people in my life:

Harkness 2012a

This picture was taken at Harkness Park last December – a couple of days after Christmas. At the time I was not sure it was a good idea. So soon? Have a family picture taken without Mike? It turned out to be a wonderful idea. These are the people I thank God for every day. I pray for them and my heart overflows with love for them. I experience great joy when I am with them. They have seen me at my best and at my worst. When I feel like others may not understand my grief struggles, they do. We share memories. I can look at each one of them and see Mike’s imprint, whether it is a smile, a posture, an opinion, or a way of saying something. Mike is present in each one.

By choosing to be vulnerable in our grief, it allows us to share each other’s burdens. Unconditional love is a great gift. To experience it is a blessing.  And I am thankful.

“Therefore encourage one another and build one another up…” 1 Thessalonians 5:11

6 thoughts on “31 Days of Thanks

  1. Beth (Betsy) Sagar says:

    So true Patty so true. I look forward to read another post later. xo

  2. Peggy McGowan says:

    Day 1–and a wonderful post Patty–and a great picture too — all the more reason for you to keep on writing and keep on healing and keep on living.

  3. Kim Stirtan says:

    Beautiful Picture! Much to be Thankful about with these beautiful people in your life 🙂 and Red
    Love you,
    Kim

  4. Gwynne Widlicka says:

    I’m so thankful for the people in this picture, too! Looking forward to the next 30 days of thanks..
    xo,
    Gwynne

  5. Susan Bever says:

    A rich legacy in your family…in ways money can not buy.

  6. Vera says:

    Hi Patty,
    I love the details in your writing. The picture is beautiful and so are the memories. We continue to learn to give thanks daily right along with you.

Leave a Reply

