31 Days of Thanks – Tears

 

“There is a sacredness in tears. They are not a mark of weakness, but of power. They speak more eloquently than ten thousand tongues. They are the messengers of overwhelming grief, of deep contrition and of unspeakable love.” Washington Irving

There are some days when the tears come. And they don’t stop. Sometimes tears seem to be the only way through the waves of grief. And it is painful. But it is not permanent. I like the part of the quote above: “They speak more eloquently than ten thousand tongues.”  Sometimes words are just not adequate enough to express my grief. And so I cry. I am more comfortable with my tears now. They reflect the great love that I’ve experienced. The love I’m so thankful to have had in my life. So tears are OK. They are cleansing. They are healing. And one day they will not come as readily. And for that I am thankful.

 

31 days of thanks_2013

6 thoughts on “31 Days of Thanks – Tears

  1. Patsy Mclaughlin says:

    heartfelt and well said
    Patsy

  2. Beth (Betsy) Sagar says:

    xoxo

  3. Peggy McGowan says:

    from the heart—a different look at tears—from the heart. lv u

  4. George says:

    Oh I don’t know. My tears still come far too readily. But that is okay. Sometimes I just cry when I see a little child do something cute. It wasn’t that long ago, I cried through the Mary Poppins movie. I am more comfortable with my tears, and they are less wrenchingly painful, and I am very comfortable with the tears of those who mourn. I am thankful for my tears. I have a deeper sense of emotion and connection in some of the simplest and mundane things in life and I think I like that.

  5. […] 31 Days of Thanks – Tears (griefandhope.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

