31 Days of Thanks – Seasons

Autumn. The colors of the leaves are changing. As I drove to Hartford today, I thought about how predictable and yet temporary the seasons are. Every year the leaves change. And then they fall, and then winter sets in. And then comes Spring followed by Summer.  The same cycle.

Autumn Leaves 2013

I am not a fan of winter.  While I enjoy hunkering down in front of a fire with a good book, I do not enjoy freezing cold temperatures with sleet and ice and all that goes with it. But I do know that for every cold winter day, we are one day closer to the warmer days of late spring when new life abounds.

And so it is with grief.  While this season I am in is not predictable – not by a long shot – it is temporary. Some days it is hard to imagine, but I know that the day will come when my heart will be a bit lighter. And I am thankful for that.

“For everything there is a season, and a time for every matter under heaven.” Ecclesiastes 3:1

2 thoughts on “31 Days of Thanks – Seasons

  1. Peggy McGowan says:

    This same verse happens to be our “mantra” for school this year. Turn, turn, turn…………..

  2. Bdoo says:

    Elegant and appropriate….

Leave a Reply

