31 Days of Thanks – Quiet Emotions

I am now back home. I wish I could say that I am thankful to be home. But it is quiet. Very quiet. I am always surprised at how much noise and activity Red brings to the house.  I have not picked him up yet. And so the house remains quiet. Did I say it is very quiet?!!

I receive daily emails that help you walk through grief. It is called GriefShare. Here is an entry that encouraged me today:

“Just give it time,” people say. That is misleading. Time alone will not heal your grief.

“I knew about the process and steps of grief recovery. But still, it felt like the weight of grief on my shoulders would never be lifted,” says Dr. Ray Pritchard. “It’s okay to feel that way. But know it won’t last forever.

“Your feelings at this point aren’t the crucial issue. What is important is that you choose to stay close to the Lord and not turn away from Him. If you walk with God as He walks with you, one day you will wake up and say, ‘It’s a little bit better.’”

God is the source of all healing. Make the decision to remain close to Him despite your emotional struggles.

“I am the LORD, who heals you” (Exodus 15:26).

This was a good reminder after being in the company of others for a full week. It is easy for me to dwell on the quiet and have a pity party. That is a slippery slope. Don’t get me wrong. I am thankful for my emotions. I have always appreciated this quote by Jim Valvano:

 “If you laugh, you think, and you cry, that’s a full day. That’s a heck  of a day. You do that seven days a week, you’re going to have something  special.” 

To feel is to be alive. Joy, sorrow, and everything in between. We were created to be vibrant individuals. So why should I expect to feel joy but not sorrow?   In the midst of the quiet, I am thankful that I still have a choice. I can choose to stay close to the God who is the source of all healing. And so I make my choice…minute by minute and I can thank Him for the quiet because that is when I sense His closeness the most.

You keep him in perfect peace whose mind is stayed on you, because he trusts in you. Isaiah 26:3

3 thoughts on “31 Days of Thanks – Quiet Emotions

  1. Peggy McGowan says:

    If you walk with God as He walks with you, one day you will wake up and say, ‘It’s a little bit better.’”…………yesirree…..welcome home. xoxo

  2. Beth (Betsy) Sagar says:

    xoxo

  3. Susan Bever says:

    will be remembering you in prayer today; that God will help you make this transition back home…sustain you and support you…

Leave a Reply

