The Second Year – Finding JOY on the Journey

I have been dreading this “holiday season”. Before Thanksgiving, I honestly felt like I just wanted it all to blow over. To go away. To leave me alone. I was overwhelmed even with the anticipation of the busyness and cultural urgency of the season. I didn’t want to listen to Christmas music, I stayed out of stores, and even the thought of decorating the house was overwhelming. But in spite of my seeming “scroogy-ness”  there was one word that entered my mind and took up residence there.

It didn’t scream for attention. It gently nudged me at times. Quietly. I decided I better start giving it some of my attention. One night I was working on a project and decided to “watch” the Charlie Brown Christmas special to give me some “white noise” (the house gets very quiet) . And there it was. That word again.

“Be not afraid; for behold, I bring you good news of a great joy which will come to all the people…”  Luke 2:10

Good news. Great joy. That is quite a promise. I realized how accustomed I have become to receiving bad news. I think on some level, I even expect it now. Linus got my attention.

“for to you…”

Get ready for it – here is the news – and it is good….

“….is born this day in the city of David a Savior, who is Christ the Lord.”

According to Webster’s Dictionary, a Savior is “someone who saves something or someone from danger, harm, failure.” And Lord is defined as “one having power and authority over others”. This is the good news that would bring great joy to all the people. Even to the woman who is swimming in grief. The one who is sometimes afraid of moving forward, making new memories, discovering a new life. Don’t be afraid….there is good news for you…. there is One who has the power and authority to save you from danger, harm, and failure. There is hope for you. You are not alone.

This is reason for great joy.

I put my project aside and I was inspired to make it a goal of mine to find JOY in the next 20 days. This season, for me, is to be one of anticipation – an advent –  as I anticipate receiving, yet again, the good news that brings great JOY to all the people on Christmas day.

Here’s to the first day of finding JOY on this journey.

6 thoughts on “The Second Year – Finding JOY on the Journey

  1. Ring, Christine says:

    Patti, Peanuts is my very favorite cartoon. I too watched the show. May I suggest that you take your joyful heart and focus on your new grandson. Kids are a great distraction. My Dad passed away in 2003. Christmas was his favorite holiday. It is still hard for my Mom but she focuses her thoughts on her Great Grandson, Mason David(my Dad’s name). The same goes for me. I feel that loving Mason helps be pass on my Dad’s love and keeps Christmas positive. I continue to pray for you and your family everyday.
    Chris Ring (Peggy’s friend from Lauralton Hall)

  2. Teresa says:

    You have been a JOY to me this year. While going through the worst of times, we managed to find each other. Through all of the hardships, I was lucky enough to meet you. I know what it is like to wonder if you would ever feel joy again and I’m so happy to see this post. Much love to you, dear friend.

  3. Kim Stirtan says:

    It will be a joy to watch you smile again; that “pretty” smile that God has blessed you with that will give others hope 🙂
    Love you,
    Kim

  4. Peggy McGowan says:

    JOY, JOY, JOY…….I will “ditto” what Kim S. had posted as her comment. Your pretty smile that God has blessed you with will once again be a JOY to so many as well and, yes, bring them hope. Your smile…JOY. xoxo

  5. deb farrell says:

    It’s with great Joy to read your blogs. I struggle and feels comforting to know I am not alone. You are a blessing.

  6. michelle says:

    Amen. Time for the Good News…

Leave a Reply

